Just Arriving

IMG_0086

It is a deeply cold, glittery snow kind of day here in Santa Fe and I have just arrived home from the warm embrace of the Sonoran desert. It would be abrupt, except that I knew it was coming and I knew it’d be hard and cold. Some things are helping already like bringing home a bonus family member with us in Tía Binbinya, picking up some positive reinforcement books from the library in Carry On, Warrior and Small Victories and in the coming around of plans set before our trip to allow this week to feel more like joy and less like dread.

Leaving home for the holidays, I have noticed, is a mixed blessing as this is the time of year when life slows down and people gather more ease-fully with one another. A blessing of a time to visit with friends and family and a missed opportunity to dig in deeper in a still new home landscape.

The desert in the winter was a delicious gift of extraordinary plant life, impossible collections of stars and, for us, a healthy array of supportive family, nourishing food and beer tasting flights. It is true that I spent a lot of time ducking and hiding from my toddler, so that I could feel some breathing space.

As the new year dawns ever nearer and along with it a very middle life feeling birthday for yours truly, I am looking at how to dig in and embrace this practice of staying home with my taskmaster, my potentional teacher. I am constantly shocked and a bit dismayed by how busy my hands are, lately, with the mundane (shuttling clothes, toys from one end of the home to the other) and then how frequently the little one is shoving something else unsolicited into my hands and then requesting Up. The need for reorientation feels very real these days, we are going to lean into our community here and I am going to readjust housework to accommodate the little guy.

Turning back towards the sun, getting down on the floor with my sons, putting these sundry items down-or better yet-in a donation receptacle. More time outside, more space for intentional movement and connection, less beer (more wine!) and reasonable expectations. Blessings on your new year, and self care for us all!

IMG_0085

2 thoughts on “Just Arriving

  1. Like! (I gave up trying to ³like² on your website ­ kept saying my password was wrong, etc.)

    Happy new year!

    ❤ Lise

    On 12/30/14, 12:08 PM, "zenandtheheartofhousekeeping" wrote:

    > devoncorbet posted: ” It is a deeply cold, glittery snow kind of day here in > Santa Fe and I have just arrived home from the warm embrace of the Sonoran > desert. It would be abrupt, except that I knew it was coming and I knew it’d > be hard and cold. Some things are helping al” >

Leave a Reply

